Wednesday, August 10, 2022
IndiaDraupadi Murmu will be next President of the country, defeats Yashwant Sinha,...

Draupadi Murmu will be next President of the country, defeats Yashwant Sinha, the opposition candidate

The term of the current President Ram Nath Kovind ends on July 24.

Must Read

Read Also

Recommended Stories

New Delhi: Draupadi Murmu , the candidate of the BJP-led ruling National Democratic Alliance (NDA), will be the country’s next President. In the counting of votes held today, he defeated Yashwant Sinha, the opposition candidate.

By the third phase of counting, Murmu got more than 50 percent of the votes, so he is sure to become the President. Murmu will take oath as the country’s 15th President on July 25. The term of the current President Ram Nath Kovind ends on July 24.

Murmu is the country’s first tribal president

With the victory in this election, Murmu has created history and has become the first tribal president of India. She will also be the first President to come from Odisha. Apart from this, Murmu is also the second woman President of the country. Before him, only Pratibha Patil has been the President.

Murmu, who started her career as a clerk in the Odisha government, had earlier also been the governor of Jharkhand.

Yashwant Sinha congratulates Murmu

After the results were clear, Yashwant Sinha issued a statement congratulating Draupadi Murmu on becoming the President. She said that she and every Indian hopes that as the President, she will act as the custodian of the Constitution without any fear and favour. Sinha also thanked the leaders of the opposition parties who chose him as a joint candidate and the elected representatives who voted for him.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi said the country created history by choosing a tribal daughter

Prime Minister Narendra Modi also congratulated Murmu and said that India has today created history by electing a tribal daughter as the President. He said that Murmu’s struggle inspires every Indian and she has emerged as a beacon of hope for the poor and downtrodden. The Prime Minister also thanked all the MPs and MLAs who voted for Murmu. Other leaders including Rahul Gandhi have also congratulated Murmu.

BJP in preparation for big celebration, roadshow till Rajpath

After Murmu’s victory, BJP is preparing for a big celebration. Party workers have also started a road show from the party headquarters in Delhi which will end at Rajpath. All the state units of the BJP have also made preparations for the celebration. Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President JP Nadda visited Murmu’s temporary residence at Teen Murti and congratulated him on becoming the President. Other leaders can also visit him.

Voting was held on July 18, it was almost certain that Murmu would become the President

Voting for the Presidential election was held in Parliament and assemblies across the country on 18 July. More than 99 percent of the MPs and MLAs had cast their votes in this. Before the elections, a total of 44 parties had announced their support for Draupadi Murmu and 34 parties for Yashwant Sinha. Some MLAs and MPs also cross-voted in support of Murmu in the election. In such a situation, it was believed that Murmu would easily win this election.


Covid India Active Cases

Total active cases
Updated on August 10, 2022 4:53 pm

Trending Now