Dinesh Karthik , who has been in excellent form in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022, has been found guilty of violating the code of conduct. The Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) wicket-keeper batsman made this mistake in the match played against Lucknow Super Giants (LSG).
No information has been given by the IPL as to what mistake Karthik did.
Statement issued by IPL
In a statement issued by the IPL, it was told that Karthik has been found guilty of violating the code of conduct in the Eliminator match played against Lucknow on May 25.
“Karthik has admitted to the Level 1 offense and accepted the penalty imposed on him. The decision of the match referee for Level 1 offenses is final and binding,” it added.
In the Eliminator against LSG, Karthik played an unbeaten innings of 37 runs in 23 balls and took his team past 200. He will play the second qualifier against Rajasthan Royals (May 27) on Friday night.
Karthik has come to the Indian team for the first time since July 2019
Karthik, who has not got a chance to play for India since the semi-finals of the 2019 Cricket World Cup, has returned to the Indian team . Karthik has been selected in the Indian team for the home T20 series against South Africa.
After being dropped from the team, Karthik was seen doing commentary for some time and it seemed that his career was over.
Karthik’s performance in the current season of IPL has been excellent
Karthik has scored 324 runs in 15 matches of IPL with an average of 64.80 and is the third highest run-scorer for his team. Karthik has scored runs this season at a strike-rate of around 190 and has scored a half-century.
This season Karthik has hit 22 sixes and 27 fours. He is the batsman with the seventh most sixes of this season.