Messaging platform WhatsApp is working on several new features to improve the user experience.
However, the new features are tested with beta users before rolling out to everyone. The feature is rolled out to all after receiving feedback and improvements from beta testers.
Let us know which new features have recently been indicated from the WhatsApp beta version.
Edit message feature
The messaging app is testing a new feature with which the sent messages can be edited.
In this way, if there is wrong information in the message or there is a typing mistake, it can be edited.
Using the Edit Message feature, the ‘Edited’ label will appear alongside the message. Let us tell you, WhatsApp’s competitor WhatsApp is giving the feature to edit already sent messages.
The Meta -owned app is rolling out a feature that prevents media from being automatically saved to the gallery.
This is being done with disparaging chats and users will continue to get the option to save photos manually.
The new message is being shown to WhatsApp users on both Android and iOS.
This message will tell the users that the ‘Media Visibility’ feature has been turned off for chats when disappearing messages are enabled.
Save Disappearing Message
Messages sent as soon as disappearing messages can be saved in the app forever.
When such messages are sent to the users along with the disappearing messages, which are important and they do not want to lose them, then they can be saved.
During testing, this feature has been named ‘ Kept Messages ‘.
Users will be given the new feature on the Contact Info and Group Info pages. They will be able to choose whether to keep ‘Kept Messages’ mode on or not.
Exit group silently
What bothers many WhatsApp users is that they cannot leave the group without other members knowing.
Because of this many times WhatsApp users have to remain part of a group they want to leave.
Now the other members will not get the information about the users leaving the group and only the group admins will know about it.
The new feature will not show notification of someone leaving a group in the chat box to all members.
About 55 percent of the monthly active users of WhatsApp use this messaging platform daily. Let us tell you, the number of users using meta apps is about 78 percent, and 22 percent of users use other apps.
Status Rich Link Preview
After pasting in a website or link status with Rich Link Preview feature, its link will not appear as text, but its preview will be shown to the rest.
However, after pasting the link, users must wait for the preview to be generated.
You must be aware that when you share a link status now, the entire link looks like text, which when tapped shows its preview.
Double verification code
WhatsApp is working on a new feature to make the messaging experience more secure. This double verification code will add an additional security layer and will be useful when login to the WhatsApp account.
If you want to login to WhatsApp on a new phone, you will be asked for an additional verification code in addition to the OTP sent over SMS.
This code will be available in the old device or users will be able to set it by going to the app settings themselves.
Undo button for deleted messages
If the user accidentally taps on the ‘Delete for me’ option instead of ‘Delete for everyone’, he misses the opportunity to delete the message from the receiver.
At the same time, sometimes the important message gets deleted by mistake.
WhatsApp is going to save this hassle with a new feature and users will be shown an ‘Undo’ option for a few seconds after deleting the message.
As soon as you tap on it, the message will appear in the chat window again.