World NewsFormer PM Ranil Wickremesinghe is the new Prime Minister of Sri Lanka

Former PM Ranil Wickremesinghe is the new Prime Minister of Sri Lanka

Ranil Wickremesinghe to be sworn in at 6 pm local time in the presence of President Gotabhaya Rajapaksa

Colombo: Former Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe will assume office as the new Prime Minister of Sri Lanka on Thursday. The swearing in will take place in the presence of President Gotabaya Rajapaksa at 6 pm local time, according to an IANS report.

The news of Wickremesinghe’s appointment came after discussions with President Gotabaya Rajapaksa. However, with Wickremesinghe’s United National Party (UNP) now short of a place to gain a majority, it is not yet clear how it will be able to gain a majority.

Wickremesinghe is set to become Sri Lanka’s sixth prime minister after the controversial resignation of former prime minister Mahinda Rajapakse.

It is noteworthy that Ranil Wickremesinghe has been the Prime Minister of Sri Lanka 5 times since 1993.

Meanwhile, Gotabaya Rajapaksa took to Twitter this morning to say that requests from various quarters for the abolition of the executive presidency would be considered.

Gotabaya Rajapaksa has announced that the 19th Amendment will be passed which will reduce the powers of the President and give more power to the Parliament. Earlier, Rajapaksa had said that the new government would be run by a prime minister who could get a majority in parliament.

Mahinda Rajapakse has resigned following a month-long violent clash by his supporters over a protest by non-political people.

Protesters are urging the Rajapakse government and president to step down amid a severe financial crisis, including shortages of essential items including food, fuel, medicine, cooking gas and several hours of power cuts.

Read Also | Who is Next Prime Minister of Sri Lanka? Gotabaya Rajapaksa to appoint new PM this week

Meanwhile, 16 people, including Mahinda Rajapaksa, have been banned from traveling abroad A Sri Lankan court today imposed a travel ban on former Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapakse and 12 political leaders and supporters of the Sri Lanka People’s Alliance.

The Fort Magistrate’s Court on Thursday imposed a travel ban on former Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapakse, his son Namal Rajapaksa and 15 others in a case related to the attack on anti-government protesters in Colombo this week.

The court also barred them from traveling abroad due to investigations into attacks on the Kotagogama and Mainagogama peace sites on Monday.

Related Stories